top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBeth

3, 2, 1, Takeoff!

Hey, Y'all!! So, my day started at 7:40am PST with getting up and ready to leave my house for Portland International Airport (PDX). We left for the airport at 8:27am. Since then, I have been traveling for approximately 26 hours!! Whew! Those hours consisted of three flights: PDX (Portland, OR, USA) to SEA (Seattle, WA, USA), SEA to AMS (Amsterdam, Netherlands), AMS to KGL (Kigali, Rwanda), and finally KGL to EBB (Entebbe, Uganda). For those who did a double take and re-looking over my number of flights, I did not get off in Rwanda, it was only an intermediary flight, I believe. Along with those flights there has been one delay (we were taxi-ing for about an hour and had to re-fuel due to a medical concern of a passenger) several time changes ranging from 3 hours to 9 hours to 10 hours, and many snacks.

But I want to go back to the beginning of checking in at the counter for my flights with Delta. First, everything was going smoothly. My bag was heavier than the 50 pounds; it was like 67 pounds, so we had to pay a fee since it was over the free 50-pound limit. I plan on leaving some clothing behind before coming home so my luggage is lighter as well as give away the gifts I brought for my home-stay family and supervisors at my internship in Uganda. Anyways, everything was going well, I had all my documents and everything until we got to my PCR Covid-19 test results. All my instruction about getting a test prior to my departure told me to get one 72 hours prior to departure. Issue is, I was not sure if it wanted like 72 hours prior or like within 72 hours prior. Well, it turns out I needed one within 72 hours prior to departure and my results were taken 68 hours prior to departure. This was a little too close for the lady at the counter who was checking me in. She suggested I get another test just to be safe. I needed this test for customs in Uganda. Without it, I may not be allowed entry. So while my test was within the range it was only hours within the required range, so my sending off party and I went over to a purple tent and got another PCR Covid-19 test. I still tested negative so that is good. Lesson learned for future study abroad peoples or general international travel: clarify when you need a Covid-19 test and know which test you need, if necessary. Also, as my mom told me: ask "what to do I do" to the person who informs you of an issue while traveling- they usually know what the next step you need to take is.













I then made my way back to TSA and said goodbye to my family and boyfriend. They are great and I will and do miss them dearly. While I am going to miss my peoples, I am also, and so are they, excited for my adventures in Uganda.

All in all, my flight to Seattle was short and quick. It was long enough apparently to warrant a Biscoff cookie and a water bottle which I accepted as I know potable water does not come out of the tap in Uganda, or at least where I am going to be. About 25-30 minutes later we landed in Seattle. My gate was SO FAR AWAY. It probably was not but I am just marveling that Sea-Tac airport has an underground shuttle train. I was not expecting that. I climbed many stairs to get on and off that train, too. My layover in Seattle was short lived and soon I was off again on a massive airplane to Amsterdam, Netherlands. Like I mentioned earlier, there was about an hour delay before we took off. The whole time I was hoping that I can make my connecting flight on time. I also got some light sleep during the delay. On this flight, we got pillows and blankets and then there are screens to watch various medias like movies and tv shows. I did not watch anything, but caught up on a show I am three seasons deep in (may I suggest the show Person of Interest, anyone? It is a goodie). But guess what?? So, I am sitting in a window seat. Normally, I go for an aisle seat, but hey- I am traveling internationally, I want to see the views. Sorry to all the fellow passengers as I opened and closed my window shade in awe of the views! But- I flew over Canada! I did not know we were going to but all the sudden I see snow-capped mountains. And so I pull up a map on my screen on the chair in front me on the plane, and we were over Canada, specifically, Jasper National Park!! It is absolutely beautiful. I have seen pictures from my boyfriend as he just went to Canada with his family and it was breathtaking. Definitely want to go to Canada for a trip and go there and be in the mountains I got to see from my airplane window. They are truly a sight to see and reminded me of God's beauty and ability. Nature is gorgeous with an even more magnificent Creator.

As I stare out the window, the plane prepped for dinner around 5pm. I got a cheese filled pasta with meat sauce that was a tad dry, a small pasta salad that tasted like sushi if I being honest (it was really good), and a small Turkish coffee flavoured ice cream. Overall, I would give it a 7/10. Oh, and I also got another bottle of water, so now with my personal water bottle, I have three bottle of water. I also wanted to see like sunset or like what the sun does cause I am going to arrive in Amsterdam in the morning, but I was told to close my shade. :| oh, well. We were about to go over the ocean, too. And Greenland as well. My seat mate was nice and there is a good chance he is from the Netherlands as he had an accent. I think someone also had a cat on the plane- maybe I was mistaken but there definitely was a bag that looked like a pet carrier.

We hit some considerable turbulence while over the bay between Canada and Greenland. Honestly, it was fun. Turbulence adds some spice to life, ya know.

I slept for about two hours during the flight. It is tricky since as I slept, the time slowly changed from a 3-hour difference to a 9-hour difference. I was able to open my shade throughout the night and got to see us chasing the day literally. The sky was clear and the clouds were below us. I saw the big dipper closer than ever before :) Okay, now I could be wrong, but I am pretty sure I saw the Northern Lights while we flew over/near Greenland. You can look at the pictures and be the judge. At first I thought they were clouds but then I am pretty confident they were moving. In the moment, I assumed that they were the Northern Lights and was astounded (again, not completely sure, but let me know). It was awe-inspiring and I am sure they are even more beautiful in person on the ground- or with a better camera and closer.

Once the day came, we flew over Ireland and I got to see the northern coast of Ireland. The coast was pretty and the waves are something I would love to see some day in person. The land was a patchwork of various greens. As we got closer to the coast of the Netherlands, I saw some shipping boats, too.

When we landed in Amsterdam, some had missed their connecting flights due to the delay back in Seattle. They re-scheduled those whose flights had already left and then said for two different flights that were about to leave, what their gates were, and to run. Luckily I had an hour to get to my flight before departure which honestly is not a lot considering boarding and my gate was really far, truly. As I speedily walked through AMS, I was amazed. Their airport felt like a mall. Like, there was a Burberry store and other name brands inside, and it had two stories, or those are all the ones I know of. Additionally, just walking in it was a whole other experience. There were so many different languages being spoken. I think primarily Dutch was spoken and I heard what sounded like French, too. As I made my way towards my gate there was a youth soccer team that was traveling for a match, as well.

Once I identified where my gate was, I went to the bathroom as I prefer not to use the plane's bathrooms if possible. The bathroom had tall stall doors and it felt very enclosed once inside the stall. They do not have toilet liners but toilet seat cleaner. When I went to wash my hands, I could not find the soap. There was a sign but I was looking in the wrong place and a lady told me that it was just under the mirror, hanging above the sink. I was also confused about how to start the water. I finally figured it out by observing another person. Bathrooms can be tricky in other countries.

Another thing I noticed is all of the translations everywhere. There are many different translations in everything and people often speak English and then follow up, in another language. This makes me wonder how many multi-lingual people work at airports like AMS.

My flight was delayed about 10-15 minutes just to get a runway for take-off. Then we were off. Just as quickly as I landed in Amsterdam am I leaving for Kigali, Rwanda.

Not too soon after we took to the air, did the seatbelt sign go off and I got another water bottle to add to my collection. I was almost done with my first one anyway. I am trying out drinking water as I usually am very bad at it. So far, I would say, I am doing pretty good.

For lunch I had a BBQ chicken with beans and rice, a salad, a roll, and a small chunk of cheese. Honestly, it is okay. The chicken was good, though it was not a BBQ sauce and the rice was mushy. The salad was different than what I was used to and did not want to risk my stomach not agreeing with it while on a plane- maybe once I am on the ground. I also watched Happy Gilmore as I ate. I had never seen it before and my boyfriend was in disbelief. Since I had time to kill, I thought I would rectify that. I also found that my screen has Tetris and sudoku on it. Naturally I played Tetris and I was the top player on the plane at that time. No clue if somebody beat me by the time we landed. I took a nap for about two and a half hours. When I woke up we were flying over a large desert and Egypt, I believe. Pardon me, I am rusty at geography and rely on a map a lot.

We landed in Kigali around 7:30pm and had a drop-off of passengers for about an hour prior to taking off again on the same plane for two hours to Entebbe. Fun fact: while Rwanda has the same time as Amsterdam, Uganda is an extra hour ahead. Another fun fact: plastic bags are not allowed in Rwanda so it was advised for people to condense and leave their plastic bags on the plane. And while I am at it, here is a funny short story: we are on the plane in Rwanda for a intermediary layover and are asked to stay in our seats while the cleaning crew does their thing. A little girl says her lips are chapped and needs Chapstick or a balm- something to soother her lips. The father tells her he cannot since we were asked to be seated while they clean the airplane prior to our departure. Then she says, "But you don't know my pain." My, what an age to be.... When we took off for EBB, we were offered water bottles again. I declined since I already had three on me. But in declining the water, I also declined a stroopwafel. That was sad.

I landed in Uganda around 10:30pm East Africa Time (EAT). Once off the plane, I went through immigration and custom. By the way, it was still 73 degrees Fahrenheit out. When I had to give my PCR test results they were accepted even with the test being administered 68 hours prior to my departure. Then off to immigration I went and stood in line for about 20 minutes or more. It was a long time as there were many people who just got off the same plane needing our VISAs approved. Once through immigration I quickly found my luggage and headed to customs. All I did was put my bags through a scanner and kept on going- nobody asked me any questions. Once I was through the airport, I went to the Forex Bureau to exchange my money. Afterwards, I called my hotel for a shuttle to be sent to the airport. Before I had even called for the shuttle, there was a man who asked if I needed a taxi. I told him no, and that I already had a taxi. I was also nervous to leave the airport because it was dark out and I am alone in a foreign country. As I walked out there was a line of people holding signs with peoples' names on them, some were tour guides, some hotels, and a bunch of private hire taxis. I was approached by one man who insisted that if my shuttle did not come that he will take me. I did not protest but told him that I was going to wait for my shuttle and it should be coming. He stayed by my side until my shuttle bus came and was whisked away to my hotel. I did not know that in Uganda, their steering wheel is on the right side and they drive on the left side of the road. The lights all had countdowns to when they changed from green to red and pedestrian stop to go.

Currently it is 12:50am EAT, Saturday, August 20, 2022, Entebbe, Uganda. Keep in mind, I am 10 hours ahead of PST and I lost a day but also not since I have been traveling for most of it. Honestly, I do not feel that jet-lagged since I went through multiple planes and slept when I could.


Anyways, I will end of with a few tech travel tips, I am sure I will share more as I go:

1) WhatsApp is great for international communication because it will keep the same "number" even if you switch SIM cards in your phone.

2) Make sure your phone is unlocked if getting a SIM card. You need to make sure your phone is unlocked if you get a new SIM card in another country as it may not work otherwise.

3) Make sure you have plenty of storage space on your phone for pictures, videos, and all that. I am notorious for taking too many pictures and I even potato'd my phone because I ran out of storage space earlier this summer. So pair down the pictures you got, sort through what you have downloaded, and delete any unnecessary apps. I got rid of a lot so I should be good for a while (fingers crossed).


Overall, I would say this day was a success with minimal stress, truly. Sure, I hit a couple bumps in the road, but nothing drastic. At least I did not have to run for my gate like some other passengers did. I guess I will talk to y'all later along my adventure abroad in Uganda. And we shall see about the frequency of posts since this is about the last time I will have reliable internet connection, and my excess time may be sparse. As always, do not forget to check out the pictures from my first 26 hours. Y'all get to benefit from me taking too many pictures as always. Also, some pictures in the album has a story behind it so feel free to reach out and learn the story of why I wanted to share it with y'all. And sorry for such a long post (and potential typos, I wrote most of this on the planes) but hey- long day means long post.

37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page