top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBeth

New Beginnings

Hello! Welcome to Abroad in Uganda! My name is Beth and, if you could not guess already, I am studying abroad in Uganda this upcoming fall. The purpose of this site is to keep my people updated on what and how I am doing, as well as shed some light on what I am learning and living over in Africa.


I hope that I am able to keep this somewhat updated, maybe once a week? But we shall see- I have been told numerous times that my internet connection will be severely lacking and unreliable. And hey- there is no time like the present and living in the moment.


Anyways, here is some general info as a precursor to my departure date of August 18th, 2022.

Q: Why am I studying abroad?

A: I am studying abroad because this is an opportunity that does not come often. I am able to study abroad through the help of the Center for Study Abroad and my family's support. I believe that studying abroad grants me a unique perspective to truly embracing a different culture through the lens of a student living in the country to learn and interact and not just be a tourist. I also love the idea of traveling and this was one way I could both see the world and get my studies done.


Q: Why Uganda?

A: I chose Uganda because I wanted to have a social work-focused internship while I was abroad. Not only would internship experience be enriching, I would also gain the insight to how other countries' social service system is like. I can experience how their system works and what the needs of this population are in comparison to the needs of my community back home. Uganda was one of about three or four places I would be able to have a social work-focused internship. It was also a country that I would love to visit, experience, and be a part of their culture.


Q: How have I been preparing?

A: I have done what feels like a million things and nothing at all to prepare for my semester abroad. I have had to book my flight, which also included a hotel as I am arriving a day early due to circumstances. I have also had to make sure I was up to date on my immunizations, get malaria medication, apply and get my visa, check to see if my passport was up-to-date and if not, renew it (luckily it was still up-to-date), buy clothing that fits the dress code of the Uganda Christian University (UCU), and other essentials for dorm life. I have also been given a book to finish before I get to Uganda for one of my classes so I have been reading and annotating The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver. The book is definitely an interesting read with deep concepts and nuances woven throughout its 545 pages.

Q: What am I most excited about?

A: I am most excited about getting to live in Uganda for about 3.5 months. I have lived in the same town for my whole life and then in Newberg since attending university. But this will definitely be a a change for me. I am also excited to truly embrace a new culture and learning from the perspectives of my classmates and the townspeople. Another thing I am excited about is seeing how faith is practiced. I have a feeling this will be a time where I am observant above all else. I am not going to Uganda to preach to people about the faith I practice in my community but to enter into their culture and faith-practices with a respect and humility for I know that I have something to gain through their ways of faith.


Q: What am I most scared about?

A: I am most scared about feeling disconnected and getting sick. I have heard from a few people who have gone abroad that there were moments they felt very alone as they were by themselves in a new country without any family or known friends nearby. I am also concerned about getting sick with like malaria or something like that. I doubt I will contract anything, but there is always that chance and hopefully after a week or so, I am more comfortable with daily living and settle into a routine.


I believe those are some of the bigger questions people tend to ask me. If there are more questions, feel free to reach out. I will do my best to get back to people. And again, I ask for patience and grace, as not only is internet connection in Uganda not the most reliable, I am a student and a person, too, with various responsibilities. Thanks for understanding!


See y'all along the way of my journey to and in Uganda!

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page